Missing Out

Image

You know, sometimes we have been attending worship services for so long, we forget what worshiping God means.

Let’s think outside what we have assumed (that worship time means singing songs), because in that small mindset, we are missing out.

*I used to miss out. I was really cynical about worship music, and would pick and choose what I liked and didn’t like. I was missing out. I didn’t understand the purpose of corporate worship. I can’t tell you with words strong enough the change it made in my relationship with God when I started really worshiping God. I started worshiping not just when my preferences were met – but all the time. I set aside that Sunday morning corporate time as just for Him. I’m still learning this as we speak.

If we don’t get this- we have poverty of spirit- our relationship with God suffers. We miss:

1. Closeness with God. He demands our worship. It starts as early as Exodus when Moses was used by God to deliver Israel from Pharaoh’s rule, God said in His word that they worshiped in a huge party, my version said the word “a festival” of praise.

2. Joy– God says in the Bible that our joy is fulfilled through worshiping Him.

Psalm 16:11, “You make known to me the path of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand.”

Psalm 63:3, “Because thy lovingkindness is better than life, my lips shall praise thee.”

3. Edifying of the believers. Edify means to instruct and improve. How can our faith in our God be nourished if we just sing songs?

Colossians 3:16, “Let the message of Christ dwell among you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom through psalms, hymns, and songs from the Spirit, singing to God with gratitude in your hearts.”

1 Corinthians 5:4, “So when you are assembled and I am with you in spirit, and the power of our Lord Jesus is present.”

The challenge: focus in on what it is God desires from you today. Just thank Him in any posture or any words that best fit your relationship with Him. Ask Him to cloud out distractions and ask God to speak tenderly to your heart what it is He desires out of your worship. 

You are loving, You are wise
There is nothing in my life You cannot revive
You are loving, You are wise
There is nothing too hard for our God

One thought on “Missing Out

  1. Pingback: Missing Out – Brittany Moultroup | Home of Denningham.com

Comments are closed.