The birds still get up and sing every morning

Image

Sometimes I get down.

Down on myself, down on others, down on my sticky mess of situations I and/or others create.

To boot I’ve been in a phase of being really, really physically tired. I wonder why all the little birds around me seem to sing louder and fly longer than me. Even my husband doesn’t seem as tired after work as I do.

Sometimes I forget that the best thing to do instead of saying “I better just get used to being tired”, or “something’s wrong with me!!” — is to ask God for the new resolve and energy to run the race.

Nowhere in the Bible does it say we have to be these amazing super-humans who work and don’t get tired, who get up each morning and yell “another fantastic day ahead!!” Everywhere it says in His strength.

Instead of feeling the routine already dragging me down, last night and this morning I asked God for a new song, a new energy.

He gave it to me! It’s as simple as that. When God speaks, write it down everywhere. Put encouraging notes from God all around your room, classroom, car, home, or office {or all of the above}.

I heard the birds suddenly erupt in song around the windows in my office this morning, right as I was pondering where my encouragement and strength came from.

He is always there, sometimes we just need a reminder.

Isaiah 40:28-31, “Have you never heard? Have you never understood? The LORD is the everlasting God, the Creator of all the earth. He never grows weak or weary. No one can measure the depths of his understanding. He gives power to the weak and strength to the powerless. Even youths will become weak and tired, and young men will fall in exhaustion. But those who trust in the LORD will find new strength. They will soar high on wings like eagles. They will run and not grow weary. They will walk and not faint.”

2 Corinthians 4:8-10, 13-18, “We are pressed on every side by troubles, but we are not crushed. We are perplexed, but not driven to despair. We are hunted down, but never abandoned by God. We get knocked down, but we are not destroyed. Through suffering, our bodies continue to share in the death of Jesus so that the life of Jesus may also be seen in our bodies.

But we continue to preach because we have the same kind of faith the psalmist had when he said, “I believed in God, so I spoke.”We know that God, who raised the Lord Jesus, will also raise us with Jesus and present us to himself together with you. All of this is for your benefit. And as God’s grace reaches more and more people, there will be great thanksgiving, and God will receive more and more glory.

That is why we never give up. Though our bodies are dying, our spirits are being renewed every day. For our present troubles are small and won’t last very long. Yet they produce for us a glory that vastly outweighs them and will last forever! So we don’t look at the troubles we can see now; rather, we fix our gaze on things that cannot be seen. For the things we see now will soon be gone, but the things we cannot see will last forever.”

Image
Wrote down the things I am hearing and learning- I add to this periodically.

Image
I write post-it notes from God’s word on my computer screen at work.

John 15:7, “But if you remain {ABIDE} in me, and my words remain {ABIDE}  in you, {Brittany}- you may ask for anything you want, and it will be granted!”

2 thoughts on “The birds still get up and sing every morning

  1. Amen! Thanks for this, was thinking of doing it but just haven’t gotten to it yet, so thanks for reminding me 😉
    love you! Mom

    • Yes, and sometimes I go through stages where I forget to put encouraging things up. But isn’t it amazing the difference it makes when God speaks and you write it down vs. just keeping it in?
      I use it to beat the wintery blues, routine, missing home.. all that stuff 🙂
      Just think- if we both post them it won’t feel like we’re so far away because we’ll both be looking at the similar encouraging verses or “whispers from God” I call them. 🙂 Makes 2,000 miles not feel so far.
      Love you!

Comments are closed.