The Grass Is Always Greener

Image

Every job, church, area of the country, relationship, apartment or house has it’s own set of blessings and circumstances to be worked through. Right?

Having had a lot of homes in a lot of different states, I am slowly learning this. I’ve had some tough conversations with God about this. (He always wins)

What I realized is: as the honeymoon phase of a new place, situation or friendship wears off (if there ever even was one); we start to whine at God. Why doesn’t my situation look as rosy as theirs? God, I didn’t say I thought being a minister was easy, but why _____ circumstance? 

If I’m being blatantly honest I’m comparing myself to other ministers, maybe people I’ve looked up to. Because isn’t that what internships and jobs do to you? You learn under the tutelage of different professors and pastors. Then when you go to fly free, you compare yourself to them. Maybe in an unhealthy way.

I know that comparison is the thief of joy, yet I still covet another person’s conflict management skills or circumstances.

And God revealed a simple yet profound truth: I signed up for trials and problems to solve by going into full-time vocational ministry, but I always want someone else’s trials and problems.

I was also shown that someone else’s trials and problems may look easier to deal with from my vantage point.

I saw this quote on facebook this morning, “Everyone you meet is fighting a battle you know nothing about. {So} Be kind. Always.”

How true. I can’t sit there an wonder what it would be like to have someone else’s position, resources, circumstances, or even relationships. God isn’t ignorant, and telling Him I would be better suited to handle different situations is like calling Him just that. I mean, He literally hand picks relationships and situations- already knowing the skill sets He has given us to deal with it. Sometimes they’re skills we do not yet possess and He wants us to develop them.

Even if it hurts, that’s the realization we all need to come to, because nothing on God’s green earth is a coincidence.

“Don’t worry about the wicked
or envy those who do wrong.
For like grass, they soon fade away.
Like spring flowers, they soon wither.
Trust in the LORD and do good.
Then you will live safely in the land and prosper.
Take delight in the LORD,
and he will give you your heart’s desires.
Commit everything you do to the LORD.
Trust him, and he will help you.
He will make your innocence radiate like the dawn,
and the justice of your cause will shine like the noonday sun.
Psalm 37

TRUST Him, & He will help you. Do you feel like you have a “cause” that is not going anywhere, no one will listen or trust you, or believe in you? Maybe the trivial circumstances in your field of ministry are bogging you down, and you feel like the “bigger picture” is being forgotten because of it? {AndHE will make the justice of your cause shine like the noonday sun.

God has not turned a blind eye- he’s still working the situation with His hands. It’s just your responsibility to respond always first in prayer, read God’s word, then His grace will flow out of you. He’s got the rest.

Does anyone else resonate with this? I don’t know about you- but this passage from God’s lips really spoke volumes to my heart today.

3 thoughts on “The Grass Is Always Greener

  1. this is great. also your posts are always so encouraging, but also call me to look inside and see what i need to bring to God. well done, lady! i’m sure that you encourage and challenge the congregation you serve in the same way!

    • Thank you, Suz! I hope and pray so! 🙂 I am kind of mucking through the stuff I write, so I’m challenged just as much. Sometimes God just speaks to my heart and I’ve gotta share it! Your posts are so challenging, and encouraging as well.

  2. Pingback: The Grass is Always Greener | Home of Denningham.com

Comments are closed.