The Pinterest and Selfies Age

Image

how-to-take-spectacular-selfie-ftr

I was convicted about something really tough recently. I was browsing through the Pinterest boards I’d created and it hit me.

Not only was it wasting precious time (a LOT of time…) but it was also a giant case of the gimme-gimmies.

If you’re a Pinterest user at all, you’ll realize quickly that the pins aren’t really bad… it’s the way they’re being used that can become a negative thing. For instance on a pin of a material item in the description we’ve all been writing things like, “I WANT” or “I NEED THIS”, “Gimme-gimme-gimme”.

I was feeling really convicted so several months ago I did a clean sweep of my Pinterest activity– naming each board with what I knew about God and His word pertaining to that category. Maybe to you that sounds doofy. But I needed to do it. It helps me use Pinterest less, and when I do use it, it helps me choose mostly inspirational, how-to’s, money-saving, or scripture pins. I’m not there yet, but I desire to convert all my social media to either lift others up or to not use it at all.

I used to take a lot of selfies or write facebook posts without thinking first. Then it hit me one day, am I using facebook/twitter/instagram as a platform? If so, what kind?

I read an article a while back about posting to social media. It asked the reader to examine their motive behind a post. Is it to cut someone down? Is it to promote yourself/set yourself up high? Is it seeking approval? That last one was an ‘ouch’ for me.

When I’m tempted to post at the end of a long, draining day (we all know that’s a disaster waiting to happen) I try to ask myself “why” before I post. As a twenty-something who has every form of social media available it’s really easy for me to get wrapped up. I knew I had a problem when my sense of humor shifted to speaking in status updates in my head. (I know, laugh away.) I had created a monster. I said Heaven help me. Literally. Christ in me– purge this gimme-gimme-pinning-monster and selfie-taking-narcissist! Take away the snarkmonster. Make her new.

If I use any social media as a platform, my prayer is that it’s to lift up the broken hearted, encourage the discouraged, and shout Christ’s name to those who don’t know Him. {Tweet this!}

“Do not turn away after useless idols. They can do you no good, nor can they rescue you, because they are useless.” 1 Samuel 12:21

“Of what value is an idol carved by a craftsman? Or an image that teaches lies? For the one who makes it trusts in his own creation; he makes idols that cannot speak.”  Habakkuk 2:18

“He has shown you, O mortal, what is good. And what does the LORD require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.” Micah 6:8

“Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.” Hebrews 13:5

