Supernatural God

Image

Sometimes I think about how a pessimist sees the negatives of life, an optimist sees the opportunities in life. I think about how the good things are still happening, but maybe for that “glass-half-full” person it’s just not there. They can’t see it, so therefore they don’t think it’s there.

It seems crazy to believe in a supernatural God in a factual, logistical world. Many don’t see things as miracles- they see coincidence or cause-and-effect. Many don’t think science or logic and belief in a supernatural God can occur together. (I’m not saying factual people are pessimists or that people with faith in God are optimists… I’m just pondering how if we allow ourselves to slow down and look around, we’ll see all the little miracles happening around us.) {Tweet This!}

My dad’s successful surgery may look like to his oncologist that it was one of many possible outcomes. A good outcome. But when I look at my written down prayers for my dad’s body, cells, digestion, rest, comfort— and how they were answered word-for-word as God promised… I see a miracle. A miracle using the very medicine and science God created.

When I started praying to open my eyes to all the miracles happening around me every day… I started becoming more grateful. And it was like a snowball effect. I started thanking and then writing them down one-by-one. Then I started praying more boldly. My faith was stretched even in the really hard stuff. But I still prayed really boldly. And God always came through!

The God of my rock; in him will I trust: he is my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my high tower, and my refuge, my savior; thou saved me from violence. I will call on the LORD, who is worthy to be praised: so shall I be saved from mine enemies. 2 Samuel 22:3-4

O God, you are my God; earnestly I seek you;
    my soul thirsts for you;
my flesh faints for you,
    as in a dry and weary land where there is no water.
So I have looked upon you in the sanctuary,
    beholding your power and glory.
Because your steadfast love is better than life,
    my lips will praise you.
So I will bless you as long as I live;
    in your name I will lift up my hands. Psalm 63

