Rain, sweet rain

20140717-083143-30703278.jpgHere in West Texas I hear we’ve been in a drought for around five years. In our one year, I can count the times it has rained on one hand, literally.
I sit and wonder if the physical condition is a picture of The Church’s heart condition.
I know so many Christians (myself included) who say, “oh a 30% chance of rain? That’ll never happen.”
We’re never optimistic, knowing The One Who can calm the seas!
I still believe there is yet another Great Awakening that will rise out of the churches of the Permian Basin who wish to align themselves with God, humbling themselves to apologize for the atrocities of The Church of all time.
In 2 Chronicles 7:12-14 God speaks to Solomon, “I have heard your prayer and have chosen this place for myself as a house of sacrifice. When I shut up the heavens so that there is no rain, or command the locust to devour the land, or send pestilence among my people, if my people who are called by my name humble themselves, and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and heal their land.”
Buckle up, Permian Basin! God is going to send that slow, steady, permeating, permanent rain– the Living Water that never runs dry!
I believe we need to pray a bit more boldly for the things we know God knows that we need.

So if He knows, cares, and always provides… Then why are we settling on asking Him for less?

{Tweet this: So if He knows, cares, and always provides… Then why are we settling on asking Him for less?}

10 thoughts on “Rain, sweet rain

  1. Love this! I read in a devotional once that we limit God with our prayers (by not praying with boldness…or doubting He will do what we ask) He hears and will answer in His perfect time 🙂

    • Thanks Julie! 🙂 He truly does! I think prayer’s for us… because He doesn’t “need” us to pray boldly to get it or answer it… but He wants us to be moved, changed, grown by our own petitions and how we think of Him. … what do you think of that idea?

      • We had a discussion about this in our Bible Study last night. We talked about prayer…and having an agenda when we pray versus praying in the Spirit- as He leads us. Prayer is our connection to Him. We pray to Him because it brings us closer to Him, to who He is. Waiting on God has been our focus for a while in our study. He is refining us and strengthening our faith when we wait and anticipate His answers. We think we wait on Him, but it is more likely that He is waiting on us!

  2. I included your site in a blog tour post I did today. I wanted you to know that I appreciate your blog and your heart for Jesus. There is no pressure for you to join- just wanted to include you, too 🙂

  3. Pingback: Rain, Sweet Rain – Brittany Moultroup | Home of Denningham.com

Comments are closed.