Apologies

crowd, scared

Apologize. That word always sits in my throat like an egg, I can hardly force my vocal cords to want to verbalize “I want to…. Ap – ol – o – gize.”

Why is this such a forgotten concept in our culture? No one ever wants to apologize because maybe, just maybe it means they are wrong. {Tweet this Quote!}

Although I know deep, deep down that I am wrong- saying it out loud puts me in such a vulnerable place that I feel like I’m giving a speech naked in front of 1,000 people.

But I am on a long journey of asking God’s Holy Spirit who I am designed to be, instead of who I am currently acting as. {Tweet this Quote!} If God wants us to strive to be holy and perfect, although we know as human beings we’ll never attain it… shouldn’t we try? Philippians 3:12, “I don’t mean to say that I have already achieved these things or that I have already reached perfection. But I press on to possess that perfection for which Christ Jesus first possessed me.”

I read one of those cutesy life change quotes yesterday. It said, “Do something every day that scares you.” Well I think besides the zombie apocalypse or giving a speech in my birthday suit, apologizing to someone I’ve hurt is my #1 fear. Check that off my daily to-do list for like… a whole week, son.

Can I tell you something though? Each time you apologize to someone who deserves it- it gets easier. Not easy, just easier. Even as a minister, I’ve used words that have cut down and wounded others; whether I meant to or not. Once you speak a word you cannot get it back. It’s a done deal.

Good thing Jesus dying on the cross for the eternity of harsh words is also a done deal.  {Tweet this Quote!}
Can I tell you something else? That feeling you get each time you pick up the phone to call and apologize, or the laptop to type… that feeling that says:

  • “You’re being so doofy.”
  • “You can’t apologize now, it’s too late.”
  • “They don’t even remember. And even if they do, they won’t forgive you!”
  • “You’re making a bigger deal of this than it really was…”
  • “They hate you for what you did.”
    or the biggest, “What you did is etched in time. You can’t fix it now. There’s no hope.”
  • Those feelings are all lies from Satan himself to get you to harbor that original bitterness and keep your apology shut in your head, never to restore a relationship. Never to become more like Christ by admitting your wrongs.

    Those are the things satan wants. Good thing he has no power where God’s Light shines! Good thing the Light of Christ lives within each of us who believe and follow Christ. Good thing it is for freedom we are set free! Good thing Jesus already died on the cross for those harsh words you spoke, those deeds you did. {Tweet this Quote!}

    So be free. Pick up the phone. The pen. The laptop. Make it right. Swallow your pride, Brittany.

    Jesus was so relational, that He laid down His life for His friends. Let’s be willing to at least lay aside our pride for ours. John 15:13, “Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.” {Tweet this Quote!}

    One thought on “Apologies

    Comments are closed.