Smells like fear

Fear makes us do funny things. As I sit and reflect on my own life I realize fear makes us arrogant, rude, loud…
to cover up the root feeling which is very different- fear.

Fear makes us cower and wait for a reason to lash out and yell,
“I’m worthy!
I’m good at this!
I’ve got what it takes!
I’m special..
Important..
YOU don’t understand me!”

The very thing we’re afraid of is the buzzword that makes us loud.

Simply put: fear makes us hurt.
Hurt others, and hurt ourselves.

But see: perfect love casts out fear:

There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear. For fear has to do with punishment, and whoever fears has not been perfected in love. (‭1 John‬ ‭4‬:‭18‬ ESV)

True love. it has been perfected. perfect, holy love came to save us from our fears!

For freedom Christ has set us free; stand firm therefore, and do not submit again to a yoke of slavery. (‭Galatians‬ ‭5‬:‭1‬ ESV)

If it smells like pride, rudeness, irrationality… You’re probably smelling fear.

You never know someone’s back story!

Let’s love on even the fearful and caloused— setting captives free everywhere we go!

3 thoughts on “Smells like fear

Comments are closed.