What Am I Really Afraid Of?

Screen Shot 2015-04-09 at 1.58.36 PM

My friend and co-worker Abigail says that if you’re afraid of something… it’s a good practice to say, “God, by saying I’m afraid of this, I’m really afraid you aren’t ______.” You fill in the blank.

Sounds harsh but it really works. Fear is actually sin. We weren’t created to live in fear. We were created to live in freedom.

For me, it’s the fear that I don’t have what it takes, and as a result- what I love will be taken from me.
“God, what I’m really saying is, ‘I don’t think you really created me to be a worship leader. I don’t feel you have equipped me for service the way I feel I should be. I fear that instead of giving me the desires of my heart… you’ll give me something lesser and I’ll have to settle.”

Ouch.

The same God who created the anatomy of the human body, the same God who causes the moon to rise and the tides to flow in and off the sands, the same God that can make the Red Sea simply stand up on edge and the same God Who can walk on water- THIS is the One I’m DOUBTING has a good plan for my life and ministry?

Leaders- Try this fill-in-the-blank exercise!

We’re all afraid of something- burdened by something- unwilling to let go of something.

When I take a good look at myself, I don’t even like to be around me when I’m fearful. Because fearful people are constantly defending themselves and putting up walls. Fearful people aren’t loving on others and serving them, they’re too busy guarding that precious thing they’re afraid to lose.

I learned a lot this weekend at the Built to Last Conference along with having worship leader Rick Muchow from Saddleback at our church. He said something that really stuck with me:

“Worship Leaders, it’s about time we start doubting our doubts and believing our beliefs. Too often our dreams are actually waking nightmares that we buy into. Too often we doubt our beliefs… and believe our doubts.

No matter what is going on around me I choose to believe God made me to lead others to worship. I choose to believe that God will give me the desires of my heart if I find myself fully trusting in Him. choose to doubt the idea that I’m not ready, not good enough, or too young. I choose to DOUBT that God would create a desire in me and then give me anything less. {Tweet this quote!}

I choose to boldly ask for things that are so great that they are doomed to fail without God’s help.  {Tweet this quote!}

Will you?

2 thoughts on “What Am I Really Afraid Of?

  1. Thank you for this and the practical way to put in your fear. So often we don’t recognize our sin and God is not able to move and change us as He so desires.

  2. You’re so welcome! I agree, conviction is no fun but only good can follow when the Holy Spirit prompts us to point out sin in our lives! 🙂 Bless you and your blog Tammy! We love you!

Comments are closed.