When you feel forgotten

And if not

When Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego were facing the decision: worship a false god or die, they made the choice to worship God instead.
I’m sure at the time of being thrown into the flames, being only human, they felt forgotten by God. I would have. “Am I really about to die? God, are you listening?”

I wish I had unwavering faith. I don’t. Yet I’ve begged God even when I felt forgotten by Him.
When your body feels numb from exhaustion of a broken heart- take one last step. God delivers. Since the creation of humans, all we’ve done is forget God. He even says in Isaiah, “The children I raised and cared for have rebelled against me. Even an ox knows its owner, and a donkey recognizes its master’s care— but Israel doesn’t know its master. My people don’t recognize my care for them.”

He gets it. Being forgotten. Jesus probably felt forgotten when the very men he spent his time pouring into all fled when he was about to be executed, especially the one who paid the corrupt system to kill him. 

Taking a step, however small toward God when you feel spent, tired, and lonely… is the step that will save you.

See in Daniel chapter 3 how Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego weren’t actually sure God would choose to save them from death? But they said, “Even if not… God is still good. We still choose Him over your statue.”

I love this part: Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego replied, “O Nebuchadnezzar, we do not need to defend ourselves before you. If we are thrown into the blazing furnace, the God whom we serve is able to save us. He will rescue us from your power, Your Majesty. But even if he doesn’t, we want to make it clear to you, Your Majesty, that we will never serve your gods or worship the gold statue you have set up.”

Nebuchadnezzar was so furious with Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego that he commanded that the furnace be heated seven times hotter than usual. Then he ordered some of the strongest men of his army to bind them and throw them into the blazing furnace. Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego, securely tied, fell into the roaring flames.

Nebuchadnezzar exclaimed to his advisers, “Didn’t we tie up three men and throw them into the furnace? I see four men, unbound, walking around in the fire unharmed! And the fourth looks like a god!”

Praise to the God of Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego! He sent his angel to rescue his servants who trusted in him. They defied the king’s command and were willing to die rather than serve or worship any god except their own God!”

I want to hang this concept up and say it every day until I internalize it. “The God we serve is able to save us. He will rescue us from your power, Your Majesty. But even if he doesn’t, we want to make it clear to you, Your Majesty, that we will never serve your gods or worship the gold statue you have set up. If not… He is still good.”

Just because I feel forgotten, doesn’t mean I am. Shattering this lie that ‘I’m forgotten’ is this truth: God simply doesn’t forget.  {Tweet}

2 thoughts on “When you feel forgotten

    • Thanks so much Julie! 🙂 …its easy ad leaders to pretend everything is fine all the time. Well I’ve just been struggling with feeling forgotten… & out of one of my rougher days came these meditations. Thanks for reading.

Comments are closed.