Complaining and Perfectionism

IMG_4926.JPG

Have you seen this pin before? I have. It haunted me for quite a long time.

It reminds me of those fasts from sugar everybody seems to be doing.
I knew quitting complaining was something that might be good for me and heal a world of problems… But I just wasn’t ready.

The Holy Spirit spirit has been working on my heart about this area lately. When we complain a lot and it becomes a problem area in our lives… What is the root cause? What makes us tick that way?

To me it is that we view ourselves as better-than. That constant need to complain is because we see ourselves in a perfect light, and we can’t stand it when others don’t meet up to our expectations.

The only perfect human that has ever lived was also God, and his name was Jesus Christ.

I know I’m the farthest thing from perfect. I wouldn’t want others to complain about me, and I’d want them to extend grace to me.

I think with the Holy Spirit’s help, it’s not so hard to try to quit complaining.

The things that I’ve noticed from this little exercise are:
I have more joy.
I trust others more.
I feel like I have more free time, because I’m not spending it complaining.
I don’t think of myself as highly as before.
I have a more realistic view of life and circumstances.
I see people in a more positive light, because I give them a chance mentally.

Thank Jesus Christ for his example in this first – that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.

One thought on “Complaining and Perfectionism

  1. Pingback: Complaining and Perfectionism – Brittany Moultroup | Home of Denningham.com

Comments are closed.