Try Something with me…

edc049bcdb2fd6726878d0321be6fb9f

This time of year for worship leaders… and all people in general… is so hectic it seems insane.

And to boot, combatting anxiety is a pain in the rear and I’m so grateful for the Holy Spirit.

Here’s a little tactic I felt the Holy Spirit tell me. He told me when I cried out for help in the midst of a season that takes away peace; when it should be our time to let the Prince of Peace rule our hearts. The tactic goes like this:

Reflect over your busy-ness. What is making you busy?

Now – can you remember a time when you didn’t have that thing? Maybe you’re a young mom or dad, who prayed for children, and now your home is full of coos and cries and food splatters and noise.

Or maybe you begged God for a calling and a ministry in the form of a full-time job. Major change happened. God delivered you, provided for you, and now you’re working your tush off for the kingdom.

Insert your own scenario if you like.

I just sit here, this busy holiday season, learning new things I never dreamed I’d have the chance to do, along with new coworkers, a new wonderful boss and mentor, a loving Savior who died for me, sympathizes with me, and I have a roof over my head, a loving, smoking-hot husband to spend my life with… yeah, I’d say I’m pretty thankful.

Sure, among the busy-ness I forget an obligation or two, flub up an announcement in front of church, play a wrong chord (or 5…), double-book myself, quit cooking or cleaning for several nights in a row (who am I kidding.. weeks..) but I’m so thankful for a God who loved me enough to die in my place.

That is all :).

Receive this advent blessing from Christ, into your hearts:

Isaiah says,
“The Root of Jesse will spring up,

    one who will arise to rule over the nations;
    in him the Gentiles will hope.”
May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit. Romans 15:12-13

One thought on “Try Something with me…

  1. Seeking gratitude in the midst of the pain and chaos. Such truth you write! Thank you for sharing. We spend so much time carrying on about our woes sometimes we miss the fact that God allowed these circumstances to be. And there are great lessons to be learned when we yield to the Holy Spirit. Thank you again.

Comments are closed.