I Met the Widow Who Gave Two Coins

Jonathan I recently made friends with a woman who is new to our church. She recently hit some rough times, and she is currently homeless.

During the offering time this past Sunday I sat down late and missed the chance to fill out my tithe check so we laid it aside to walk to the finance office later.

My friend walked down after worship holding a church offering envelope with a few coins in it. I tried to hold back my tears as I told her I too needed to bring my offering, and we agreed to walk together. We walked in silence; like we usually do- because it’s hard to strike up a conversation as a wealthy person befriending a person that doesn’t have a home. Even my worship and my tithe seem inferior to her praise amidst her struggles. Her quarters, nickels and dimes are far superior because they are gifts out of her poverty, and mine are a measly 10% of my extreme wealth.

People smiled at us as we walked slowly over the finance office, and a few felt the need to whisper to me beforehand that she was indeed homeless.

I tell you this story because Jonathan and I said last year in a post we have big news coming in the years to come. And we do. I might reveal it on my twitter, facebook, and here on the blog this week.

On the topic we do wonder: who does God mean by, “to look after orphans and widows in their distress…” ? If my friend doesn’t have a husband or any family or friends who will help her… doesn’t she qualify? And if she does? “OH LORD! Forgive us for not helping more!”

I love our church- because they help the community so much. I’m here full time- and yet I’m still finding out about more ministries every week! Just this morning we stuffed our weekly bags for children who are on free and reduced lunches at school.

“Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world.” James 1:27

I can’t wait to share with you what God is up to with Jonathan and I!

~Love,
Jonathan & Brittany

3 thoughts on “I Met the Widow Who Gave Two Coins

  1. Pingback: Two Coins | Worship Links

Comments are closed.