Way Beyond Me

Sunday during the worship set at the contemporary service two minor things happened that really scared me. I bet the congregation hardly noticed- but my immediate response (after panic) was peace and real worship.

I think God does stuff like this all the time to keep us humble and dependent on Him. To remind us we’re not the ones in control anyway.

I was listening to the words of this Toby Mac song today and they really resonated with what God is walking me through:

“Call it a reason to retreat…

I got some dreams that are bigger than me-

I might be outmatched, outsized, the underdog in the fight of my life

Is it so crazy to believe…

That You gave me the stars, put them out of my reach,

Called me to waters a little too deep?

Oh, I’ve never been so aware of my need

You keep on making me see:

It’s way beyond me.”

It’s counter-cultural to talk or write a song about how weak and vulnerable we are without a higher power.

This country is all about making it, working up the ladder. Every fiction book and movie is about a main character who defies the mold, unique, special.

It’s not fun to relish in the fact that without the Holy Spirit we are powerless.

But in that admitting our desperation for God to help us comes a peace no others can know. With the supernatural power of God residing in us- we can move and breathe and create and think and work like never before. There are no limits to what God can do in us, if we just let go of our pride.

2 Corinthians 12:9 ESV

“But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.”

