Change the Pattern of My Heart

Why is it when things are going well, or even minor bumps in the road… I can say “God is still in control”…

But when true hardships hit… I lose sight of all things good from my Good Father… like I’ve been dragged up inside a frightening tornado.

It’s not that I’m outright saying, “God, I don’t trust that you’re really in control anymore”, I just lose sight of how He plays into my situation.

I decided today this pattern in my life needs to be broken down, and healed in Jesus’ powerful name.

The words to this song by Amanda Cook are exactly what I needed to hear:

Your love’s not fractured
Its not a troubled mind
It isn’t anxious
Its not the restless kind
Your love’s not passive
Its never disengaged
Its always present-
It hangs on every word we say.
Love keeps it promises
It keeps its word
It honors what’s sacred
Cause its vows are good…
Your love’s not broken
Its not insecure!
Your love’s not selfish
Your love is pure
Cause: You don’t give your heart in pieces, you don’t hide yourself to tease us!

Why would God hide when we need Him most? To tease us? No.
Lord, change this pattern of mine – change it so that every time I’m in trouble I’m already talking to You about it- the God who’s love hangs on every word I say.

